AEDM – 2016 – Day 3


Queen Anne’s Lacequeen-ann

Opinions abound.  She is herb, weed, wildflower all at once.  History states (and you can Google this) Hippocrates recommended that women eat carrot seeds to prevent pregnancy. Consider – She knew, before us, what would be needed.

She is Wild Carrot, the young girl dancing in a meadow near a burbling stream, caressing rocks and debris much the way holy water was supposed to anoint the crowds.  She heals, inspires, forgives.

She represents Sanctuary – for those needing safety, warmth, to feel the sun embracing us while speaking “Look around you. Breathe”, she is the Goddess holding us in her palm until we are stable, relaxing her fingers encouraging us to fly. We are all birds.  She is the nest.

In the neighborhood surrounding my new home, there are patches of curbside gardens.  My daily walk isn’t just for exercise.  It’s a virtual shopping spree, a brain balancer – soul sister.  I listen to inspirational words, an iPhone ear bud in my right ear, the left bud tucked in my hoodie.  I’ve had profound tinnitus in my left ear since the age of 12.  A result of Scarlet Fever. I’m 70.  So many years without silence, missing the nuances of conversations certain tones at concerts, that whine when your breaks are going.  Too many years listening to the shrill squealing of ravens on an endless loop in my head at a volume louder than the old dial tone.  This isn’t just an auditory buzz from taking too many aspirin.  It impacts my balance, my sleep, my hearing – my mood.  I meditate to it.  I’ve learned to embrace it. Daily walks are opportunities to concentrate on different things, letting it guide me instead of controlling me, pushing me toward constant growth.

Back to the gardens – I photograph ordinary things that are not so ordinary, depending on one’s point of view.  Half a doll in the middle of the street.  The heel of a blue athletic shoe teetering off the edge of a curb. A used condom.  Three dead leaves, crisp edged, each a different color, competing for my attention. It’s all the same life-happening event unfolding. Me, my right ear bud and whatever it brings into my consciousness, my left orchestra of squealing ravens, we walk a healthy pace through these streets shouldered by curbside gardens and every single day I find a reason to celebrate regardless of what is in my head, my heart, the bank, my future. My only concern is Now.

I’ve seen her before, of course, many times but here, in this new place, this new climate, these new people, challenges and opportunities, she is the new constant.  She is everywhere.  In her various phases, she is young, mature, brown tipped, stark white, an ever so pale nearly unnoticeable apple green, a purple center like the crown chakra – trust, devotion, inspiration, happiness, positivity – she represents all woman, every color, ethnicity, orientation – she is a symbol of the energy the world needs to heal – the great mother – the Queen. And so, I look around me.  I breathe.

One thought on “AEDM – 2016 – Day 3

  1. WOW!
    ❤ ❤ ❤ :she is the Goddess holding us in her palm until we are stable, relaxing her fingers encouraging us to fly. We are all birds. She is the nest.

    and THIS:
    I photograph ordinary things that are not so ordinary, depending on one’s point of view. Half a doll in the middle of the street. The heel of a blue athletic shoe teetering off the edge of a curb. A used condom. Three dead leaves, crisp edged, each a different color, competing for my attention. It’s all the same life-happening event unfolding

    amazing writing. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

